Friday, May 11, 2012

Wis. Supreme Court refuses to reappoint chairman - WAOW


The state Supreme Court has decided not to reappoint the leader of a commission working to discipline Justice David Prosser.

Wisconsin Judicial Commission Chairman John Dawson's term ends Aug. 1. Chief Justice Shirley Abrahamson, Justice Ann Walsh Bradley and Justice Patrick Crooks sent Dawson a letter Friday saying the court decided it didn't want him back.

The decision was made in a closed vote. The three justices didn't reveal the tally, but they said they supported him, suggesting the four-justice conservative majority didn't.

The commission has brought complaints against three members of the conservative bloc since 2007. The latest came in March when the panel, under Dawson's leadership, accused Prosser of violating judicial ethics when he allegedly wrapped his hands around Bradley's neck during an argument.

Dawson declined to comment.

(Copyright 2012 by The Associated Press. All Rights Reserved.)

No comments:

Post a Comment